Delhi Government

The Delhi Government is the supreme authority that governs the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT) including nine of its districts. The Government of Delhi comprises of an Executive, Legislature and Judiciary. New Delhi is the seat of both the State Government of Delhi and the Government of India.

Delhi Legislative AssemblyDelhi Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly of Delhi or the Vidhan Sabha is a law making body. The set up of the Legislative Assembly consists of the Speaker, Deputy Speaker, and Secretary to Honorable Speaker, Secretary to Deputy Speaker, Secretary Legislative Assembly and several other members.

The Legislative Assembly is unicameral in nature. It consists of 70 Members. 13 seats in the Legislative Assembly are reserved for the scheduled caste. 

There are 7 ministers in the Delhi Cabinet. The Legislative Assembly has a term of five years. The Assembly is a privileged body. The members here have all the functions and powers availed by the members of Parliament. The members of the body are also eligible to vote in the election of the President of India.

The Chief Minister is the head of the government and is vested with executive powers. The Chief Minister is appointed by the Governor and on his advice the President appoints the other ministers. In accordance with his Council the Chief Minister advises and helps the Lieutenant Governor in his duties for matters that the Legislative Assembly can make laws.

The legislative control of Delhi had been mostly under the Indian National Congress. After the re-establishment of Legislative Council in 1993 the second major political party Bhartiya Janta Party came to power, but could not maintain its line up in elections that took place in 1998.

During the 1998 elections the Congress government came into power and after that in two more successive assembly elections Congress party held its control on elections under the leadership of Sheila Dixit making her Chief Minister for third time and giving three consecutive wins to Congress and its alliance UPA (United Progressive Alliance). 

However, Shri Arvind Kejrival, leader of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was elected as the chief minister in the last Assembly elections held in 2013.  But the new government stayed in power only for 49 days as Kejriwal resigned in February 2014. 

Fresh elections were again conducted on February 7, 2015. Aam Admi Party (AAP) led by Arvind Kejriwal won the 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections winning 67 of the 70 assembly seats. Delhi got its new government on February 16, 2020 when Shri Arvind Kejriwal was sworn in as the eighth Chief Minister of Delhi.

In 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, the Aam Aadmi Party, led by Arvind Kejriwal won 62 seats to claim an absolute majority in the elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party won 08 seats while Congress even failed to open its account.

Cabinet Ministers of Delhi

Arvind Kejriwal
Chief Minister of Delhi

Manish Sisodia
Delhi Cabinet Minister- Tourism, Education, Finance, Planning, Land & Building,Vigilance, Services, Women & Child Development and Art, Culture and Languages

Satyendra Jain
Delhi Cabinet Minister- Health, Industries, Power, Public Works Department, Home and Urban  Development

Gopal Rai
Gopal Rai is the Minister for Environment, Forest & Wildlife, Development and General Administration in Government of Delhi 

Rajendra Pal Gautam
Minister for Water, Tourist, Culture, Arts & Languages and Gurudwara Elections in the Government of Delhi.

Imran Hussain
He represents the Ballimaran constituency of New Delhi

Kailash Gahlot
Transport & Environment minister of Delhi and a member of the Sixth Legislative Assembly of Delhi in India.

Assembly Constituencies in Delhi

  • Nerela
  • Burari
  • Timarpur
  • Adarsh Nagar
  • Badli
  • Rithala
  • Bawana (SC)
  • Mundka
  • Kirari
  • Sultanpur Majra (SC)
  • Nangloi Jat
  • Mangol Puri (SC)
  • Rohini
  • Shalimar Bagh
  • Shakur Basti
  • Tri Nagar
  • Wazirpur
  • Model Town
  • Sadar Bazar
  • Chandni Chowk
  • Matia Mahal
  • Ballimaran
  • Karol Bagh (SC)
  • Patel Nagar (SC)
  • Moti Nagar
  • Madipur (SC)
  • Rajouri Garden
  • Hari Nagar
  • Tilak Nagar
  • Janakpuri
  • Vikaspuri
  • Uttam Nagar
  • Dwarka
  • Matiala
  • Najafgarh
  • Bijwasan
  • Palam
  • Delhi Cantt
  • Rajinder Nagar
  • New Delhi
  • Jangpura
  • Kasturba Nagar
  • R. K. Puram
  • Mehrauli
  • Chhatarpur
  • Deoli (SC)
  • Ambedkar Nagar (SC)
  • Sangam Vihar
  • Greater Kailash
  • Kalkaji
  • Tughlakabad
  • Badarpur
  • Okhla
  • Trilokpuri (SC)
  • Kondli (SC)
  • Patparganj
  • Laxmi Nagar
  • Vishwas Nagar
  • Krishna Nagar
  • Gandhi Nagar
  • Seema Puri (SC)
  • Rohtas Nagar
  • Seelampur
  • Ghonda
  • Babarpur
  • Gokalpur (SC)
  • Mustafabad
  • Karawal Nagar

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Delhi
Address: Old St. Stephen's College Building, Chief Electoral Officer, Kashmere Gate, Lothian Rd, Old Delhi, Delhi, 110006
Phone: 011 2397 7130
e-mail :[email protected]

Lieutenant Governor of Delhi

The Lieutenant Governor of Delhi is the head of the state of Delhi. He is appointed by the President of India. His post is largely ceremonial. The Lieutenant Governor is appointed by the President for a period of five years.

The Lieutenant Governor/ Governor of all the states and union territories of India have same powers and duties at the state level as the President of India at the union level. 

Lieutenant Governors exist for union territories like Governors exist for states. The President on the advice of the Prime Minister can terminate the Lieutenant Governor but there is no provision for impeachment of the Lieutenant Governor. 

The Lieutenant Governor has access to many legislative, executive and discretionary powers. He can summon, prorogue and dissolve the Assembly. A bill cannot be introduced in the Legislative Assembly without the approval of the Lieutenant Governor, barring five matters. 

The Lieutenant Governor also addresses the Legislative Assembly in the first session after each general election and at the commencement of first session of each year.

Current Hon’ble Lieutenant Governor of Delhi
Shri.Anil Baijal

Delhi Judiciary

The Delhi High Court is the apex body managing the jurisdiction of Delhi. The Delhi High Court has two lower courts—the Small Causes Court for civil cases and the Sessions court for criminal cases.Below the Delhi High Court are the district courts (Patiala House Courts Complex, Tis Hazari Courts Complex, Karkardooma Courts Complex, District Court Saket and Rohini Court Complex), Criminal Courts, Family Courts, Juvenile Justice Court, Revenue Courts, Beggars Court and so on. 

The Delhi High Court was set up on October 31, 1966. The judge of the High Court is appointed by the President in consultation with the Governor of that respective state and the Chief Justice of India. Justice Satish Chandra Sharma is the current Chief Justice of Delhi High Court. Justice G Rohini was the first woman chief justice of Delhi High Court.

Delhi Municipality

The civic administration of Delhi is looked after by the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). Delhi has three local municipal corporations viz Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC) and Delhi Cantonment Board. The New Delhi Municipal Council is the municipal council of Delhi.

    Free Listing