Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide south west district

South West District of Delhi

The South West District of N.C.T. of Delhi situated on the South West part of Delhi is located in between the latitude of 28 40' and 28 29’ and longitude of between 76 50’ and 77 14’.

The South West District has a strategic importance as it houses both the airports in Delhi - The Indira Gandhi International Airport as well as the domestic Airport at Palam. The District also has the strategically important Cantonments which house a number of defence armoury, artillery, installations, etc. apart from large numbers of defence personnel.

South West District of DelhiThe R.K. Puram area of this district also has a large number of Government officers. It also marks the distinction of having the biggest colony in Asia at Dwarka at the extreme end of South West District. On the other hand, R.K. Puram is the largest Government colony in Asia also comes under this district. The Palam village is the head of the Panchayat of 365 villages.

Location and Geography of South-West Delhi

South West District of the national capital is surrounded by South District of Delhi on its East, Jhajjar on its West, West District of Delhi on its North and Gurgaon on its south. The district is bounded by Haryana border comprising of Gurgaon, Bhahdurgarh & Jhajjar, South, Central, West and New Delhi District of NCT of Delhi.

Functions of South-West Delhi

A variety of administrative services are offered by the Office of the Deputy Commissioner (South-West) to the public which includes:-
  • Issuing of certificates
  • Miscellaneous functions under various rules, orders and acts.
  • Services pertaining to ownership of a piece of land
  • Registration of Documents
  • Registration of Marriage
  • Loans for self employment
  • Relief & Rehabilitation
  • Various functions of LHA under the prevention of food Adulteration Act
  • Stamping of Documents
  • Land Acquisition
  • Functions of Magistrate Under Cr Pc
  • The Regulatory functions under Environment protection Act

Organizational Set Up of South-West Delhi

The District Administration is a bridge between the common men and Government. This system has been adopted even before independence and has a very long tradition in India. The Deputy Commissioner (DC) is head of the district followed by additional District Magistrate (ADM). The ADM of the Southwest Delhi district functions as the Land Acquisition Collector and carries out the functions of assessment of compensation for land taken over for public purposes, acquisition of land and taking over possession of land.

The district is further divided into three sub-divisions and SDM or sub divisional Magistrate is the head of each subdivision. Each Subdivision is having clerical and revenue staff for its various functions. For revenue functions each subdivision has its Naib- Tehsildar, Tehsildar, patwaris and Kanungo. And for other functions, there are the clerical staffs.

Sub-Divisions of South-West Delhi

  1. Delhi Cantonment
  2. Najafgarh
  3. Vasant Vihar
The South West district has a varied character of Najafgrah Sub Division as predominately a rural area, Delhi Cantonment Sub Division as mostly an urban and the Vasant Vihar Sub Division as a mix of both urban and rural areas.

Facts and Figures

Population: 2,292,363 (2011 census)
Population density: 5,459 persons per square kilometer
Area: 420 km²
Literacy rate: 88.81%
Sex ratio: 836 females per 1000 males
Civic agency: Municipal corporation of Delhi
Parliamentary constituency: South West Delhi
Nearest city: Gurgaon

Police Stations in South-West District

  • ACP Delhi Cantt.
  • Delhi Cantt
  • Inder Puri
  • Naraina
  • ACP Dwarka
  • Sector 23 Dwarka
  • Dwarka (North)
  • Kapashera
  • Dwarka South
  • ACP Dabri
  • Dabri
  • Binda Pur
  • Palam Village
  • Sagar pur
  • Nazafgarh
  • Najafgarh
  • Jaffar Pur Kalan
  • Chhawala
  • Baba Hari Dass Nagar

Government Officials Contacts

  • Sh. Nikhil Kumar, IAS
    Designation: D.C. (SW)
    Telephone Numbers: 25065633,25069484
    Extn: 11
    Fax: 25069133

  • Sh. K.C.Surender
    Designation: ADM (SW)
    Telephone Numbers: 25069485
    Extn: 12
    Fax: 25066416

  • Sh. Jai Bhagwan
    Designation: SDM(HQ)/SDM(DWARKA)
    Telephone Numbers: 25069486
    Extn: 41

  • Mrs. Neha Bansal, IAS
    Designation: SDM (Najafgarh)
    Telephone Numbers: 25017834, 25021834

  • Sh. Manoj Kumar Sharma
    Designation: SDM (Kapashera)
    Telephone Numbers: 25069185
    Extn: 15

  • Sh. Satish Kumar Rawat
    Designation: Tehsildar (Dwarka)
    Telephone Numbers: 25321194

  • Sh. Shubhasheesha
    Designation: Tehsildar (Najafgarh)
    Telephone Numbers: 25069483FAX: 25321194
    Extn: 29

  • Sh. Vinod Kumar
    Designation: Tehsildar (Kapashera)
    Telephone Numbers: 25069483

  • Sh. B.S. Sharma
    Designation: SR-IX
    Telephone Numbers: 25069483/86
    Extn: 18

  • Sh. D.C.Nautiyal
    Designation: Accounts Officer
    Telephone Numbers: 25069483
    Extn: 28

  • Sh. V.K. Sharma
    Designation: O.S. (Admn.)
    Telephone Numbers: 25069483
    Extn: 31

  • Sh. Satbir Singh
    Designation: O.S (CTB, RTI, L&J)
    Telephone Numbers: 25069486
    Extn: 33

  • Sh. Manoj Kumar
    Designation: Asstt. Programmer (Computer Cell )
    Telephone Numbers: 25069483
    Extn: 46

  • Sh. Surender Kumar
    Designation: Statistical Officer

Explore more about Delhi Government