Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide parliament house

Parliament House

Parliament HouseThe Parliament House of India is like a crown on Lutyens’ Delhi. Planned by Edwin Lutyens and Herbert Baker, Sansad Bhavan or the Parliament house is the head quarters of World’s largest democracy. It is a spectacular cluster of architectural masterpieces of the country. Tourists visiting Delhi just cannot miss this destination.

History and architecture of the Parliament house in Delhi

The estate is divided into five parts i.e. the parliament House, Reception Office building, Parliament Library building also known as Sansadiya Gyanpeeth, the Parliament House Annexe and the endless lawns. To keep it secure the parliament house is enclosed by red sand stone walls, iron grills and gates. It houses ‘House of the People’ and ‘Council of States’ i.e. The Lok Sabha and The Rajya Sabha respectively. As mentioned before Indian Parliament house has been designed by the planner and architect of New Delhi Edwin Lutyens who was supervised by Herbert Baker. It took them six years for building the Sansad Bhavan and it took around 0.83 million rupees to materialize the whole project. The opening ceremony was performed by Lord Irwin and foundation stone was laid by the duke of Connaught after whom Connaught Place was named. 

The Parliament is a circular structure with a diameter of 170 meters; it is supported by 144 columns and covers nearly six acres of area. The building has 12 gates and Gate 1, which is the main gate, is located on the Sansad Marg. In the centre is the central Hall connected to the chambers of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha along with library hall; between these three chambers are the garden courts. Encircling the chambers is the area providing accommodation for Ministers, and secretaries. Because the Constitution of India was framed and adopted in this hall it bears great historical significance. Also the joint sittings of both the houses and presidential address after each general election are conducted in the central Hall.

Statues and portraits in the Parliament Precincts

The parliament Houses statues of the following stalwarts of Indian History

  1. Chandragupta Maurya
  2. Pandit Motilal Nehru
  3. Gopal Krishna Gokhale
  4. Dr. B.R Ambedkar
  5. Mahatma Gandhi
  6. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
  7. Shri Aurobindo Ghosh
  8. Y.B Chavan
  9. Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant
  10. Babu Jagjivan Ram
  11. Pandit Ravi Shankar Shukla
  12. Smt. Indira Gandhi
  13. Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad
  14. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose
  15. K. Kamaraj
  16. Prof N.G. Ranga
  17. Sardar Patel
  18. Birsa Munda
  19. Andhra Kesari Tanguturi Prakasm
  20. Jayaprakash Narayan
  21. S. Satyamurti
  22. C.N Annadurai
  23. Lokapriya Gopinath Bordoloi
  24. P. Muthuramalinga Thevar
  25. Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj
  26. Mahatma Basaveshwara
  27. Maharaja Ranjit Singh
  28. Shaheed Hemu Kalani
  29. Ch. Devi Lal
  30. Mahatma Jyotirao Phule

The dais in the central Hall is overlooked by a portrait of Mahatma Gandhi and the walls on either side of the dais contain portraits of significant national leaders like:

  1. Madan Mohan Malviya
  2. Dadabhai Naoroji
  3. Lokamanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak
  4. Lala Lajpat rai
  5. Motilal Nehru
  6. Sardar Vallabhai Patel
  7. Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  8. Jawaharlal Nehru
  9. Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
  10. Rabindra Nath Tagore
  11. Smt. Sarojini Naidu
  12. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
  13. Subhash Chandra Bose
  14. C. Rajagopalachari
  15. Smt. Indira Gandhi
  16. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia
  17. Dr. Syama Prasad Mookerjee
  18. Rajiv Gandhi
  19. Lal Bahadur Shastri
  20. Ch. Charan Singh
  21. Morarji Desai
  22. Swatantryaveer Vinayak Damodar Savarkar

The walls of the hall are adorned by 12 gilded emblems representing 12 provinces of the undivided India.

Places for public visit in the Parliament

The public galleries and press galleries where one can get a permit to sit and view the sessions are on the first floor of the Lok Sabha chamber. Guests of the speakers get to be seated next to the press gallery which is just above the chair of the speaker. Rajya sabha members also get to view sessions and they get a place next to the area reserved for speaker’s guests; all those diplomatic guests who want to view the session get a place to the right of the press gallery.

Another visiting place is the reception office located exactly opposite Gate 1. Visitors come here to meet ministers or to view the parliament proceedings. To enter the reception area one can use the entrance to the reception from Raisina road side.

Quick Facts

Location of the Parliament House

Parliament House Delhi is situated where Sansad Marg or the Parliament Street ends exactly north of Rajpath. It is close to India Gate and happens to be located in the very heart of Delhi. Unfortunately one is not allowed to move about in the premises without special permission; the foreign nationals need a letter of introduction from their respective embassies to get entry in Sansad Bhavan Delhi; However with special permit, that can be obtained from the reception office (on Raisina road), one can sit for sessions in the public gallery.

How to reach

It is advisable to hire a cab or auto rickshaw to reach the Sansad Bhavan; one can even get down at Central Secretariat metro station on the Yellow line and take a walk till the Parliament house; from Rajiv Chowk to Central Secretariat the fare is Rs. 10/-. 


Entry is free; one just needs an official permit to the enter the Parliament premises.

Time required & photography

Around 2 hours are sufficient for a person to see the Parliament House of India thoroughly. One requires prior permission for photography at the Parliament.

Parliament house is one destination that infuses a sense of pride and respect for India and the freedom struggle of India.

Explore more about Delhi Tourism