best for small must for all Festival Calendar 2023
Home city guide north west delhi district

North West Delhi District

North-West Delhi MapNorth West Delhi district is one of the nine districts of Delhi. North West Delhi has is surrounded by West Delhi to the south, the Yamuna River on the north-east, the districts of North Delhi to the east and southeast, Sonipat District of Haryana to the northwest and north, Jhajjar of Haryana state to the west and Ghaziabad of UP to the northeast across the Yamuna.

Functions of North-West Delhi District

The District administration carries out different variety of functions including revenue courts, magisterial matters, issue of various statuary documents, conduct of elections, registration of property relief and rehabilitation, land acquisition etc.

Organizational Setup of North-West Delhi District

The Deputy Commissioner is the head of the District.  The second in command is the Additional District Magistrate (ADM) .  The Nortwest District is divided into into 3 subdivisions. The head of each sub division is the Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM). 

The subdivisions for its various functions have its  revenue  and clerical staff. For revenue functions each sub-division has Tehsildar, Naib-Tehsildar, Kanungo and Patwaries.


  • Kanjhawala
  • Rohini
  • Saraswati Vihar
Following are the addresses of the three SDM offices

  • SaraswatiVihar, Old  Middle School Building, Lawrence Road, Rampura, Delhi- 110035.
  • Rohini, O/o Dy. Commissioner, North- West District, Kanjhawala, Delhi -110 081.
  • Kanjhawala, O/o Dy. Commissioner, North- West District, Kanjhawala, Delhi - 110 081.

For performing the election related duties the Deputy Commissioner (North-West) has also been designated as Joint Chief Electoral Officer (NW). All the SDMs and SDM (Election) assist the Deputy Commissioner for this work.

There are two offices of Sub Registrar in the district directly under the control & supervision of the Deputy Commissioner.

Address of the Sub-Divisional Sub-Registrar offices:
  • Sub-Registrar Office (Rohini), Ambedkar Bhawan,Sector-16,Rohini,Delhi-85.
  • Sub-Registrar Office (Saraswati Vihar), Near DTC Depot, Sector-16, Rohini, Delhi -85.

The Office of the BDO (NW) which is also a part of the office of Deputy Commissioner is responsible for the Gaon Sabha land and growth of horticulture, agriculture, and developmental activities in the village. The Block Development officer is the head of the BDO office. The NIC centre of the Northwest District helps in computerization in the district thereby linking the district to the whole world

Facts and Figures

Population: 3,651,261 (2011 census)
Area: 442.8 km
Density of Population: 8298 persons per km?
Parliamentary constituency: North West Delhi
Civic agency: municipal corporation of Delhi
Sex ratio: 866 females per 1000 males
Literacy rate: 84.66%

Police Stations in North-West Delhi District

  • Kanjhawala
  • Sultanpuri
  • Aman Vihar
  • Begampur
  • Mangolpuri
  • Vijay Vihar
  • Rohini South
  • K.N. Katju Marg
  • Keshav Puram
  • Ashok Vihar
  • Bharat Nagar
  • Rani Bagh
  • Subhash Place
  • Morya Enclave
  • Rohini North
  • Prashant Vihar
  • Shalimar Bagh


  • Alipur-27202265
  • Narela-27280904
  • Shalimar Bagh-27497179
  • Jahangir puri-27215641
  • Rohini-27045035
  • Ashok Vihar-27242917
  • Rani Bagh-27015770
  • Keshav Puram-27181325
  • Sultanpuri-25472410
  • Mangolpuri-27272186
  • Kanjhawala-25474486
  • Mukherjee Nagar-2723113
  • Adarsh Naga-27247812
  • Model Town-27459202
Read More National Zoological Park in DelhiYoga Centers in Delhi, Yashwant Place, Yamuna River in Delhi, NGOs for Women in DelhiWine Shops in Delhi, Wildlife Sanctuaries Near DelhiWholesale Markets in Delhi, Map of West Delhi District,Volvo Bus Service from Delhi, Delhi OnlineVintage Camera Museum DelhiFoundation of Shanti Stupa DelhiHistory of Digambar Jain Mandir DelhiList of Bank Branches in Delhi, Economic System of DelhiBanquet Halls in Delhi, Big Bazaar Delhi, Catering Services in Delhi, Apollo Hospital Delhi, National Childrens Museum New Delhi

Explore more about Delhi Government

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries