best for small must for all
Home city guide north east district delhi

North East District - Delhi

North-East Delhi MapNorth East Delhi district is one of the nine districts of NCT of Delhi. The district came into existence in January 1997 when Delhi was divided into nine revenue districts. 

The North East district has its district head quarter at D.S.I.D.C Complex, Nand Nagri, has a great historical, social, economical & cultural importance. 

North East Delhi is bordered by Yamuna River on the west, Ghaziabad District on the north and east, East Delhi on the south and North Delhi on the west across the Yamuna.


The District administration carries out a variety of functions that include magisterial matters, revenue courts, issuing of various statuary documents, registration of property, conduct of elections, relief and rehabilitation, land acquisition and various other administrative areas.

Organizational Setup

The District is headed by the Deputy Commissioner followed by an Additional District Magistrate (ADM) who acts as a second-in-command. The district is divided into 3 subdivisions and a Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM) is the head of each of these subdivisions. 

Each subdivision has revenue and clerical staff for performing various administrative functions. For revenue, each subdivision has Tehsildar, Naib-Tehsildar, Kanungo and Patwaris. For other functions, there is clerical staff.


The north east district of Delhi has the following three sub divisions. 
  1. Seelampur
  2. Shahdara
  3. Seemapuri
Shahdra has been divided into two zones of the Municipal Council of Delhi of which the main wards are North Shahdra and South Shahdra. Shahdra has also been divided into old Shahdra and new Shahdra. Some of the other important areas of north east district are - Dilshad Garden, Dilshad Colony, Tahirpur, Preet Vihar, Yamuna Vihar and Bhajanpura.


The district has the following towns –
  1. Babar pur
  2. Dayal pur
  3. Gokal pur
  4. Jiwan pur
  5. Jaffrabad
  6. Ziauddin pur
  7. Mustafabad
  8. Sadat pur gujran
  9. Mir pur turk
  10. Khajoori khas
  11. Karawal Nagar

Facts and Figures

Population: 2,240,749 (2011 census)
Area: 60 km²
Population density: 37,346 persons per km²
Sex ratio – 886 females per 1000 males
Literacy rate – 82.8%

Police Stations of North East district

Bhajan Pura Police Station
Address: Bhajanpura, Delhi 110053

• Dayal Pur Police Station
Address: Metro StationShahdara, Mangal Pandey Marg, Wazirabad Rd, near, Gokalpuri, Delhi 110032

• Gokul Puri Police Station
Address: Mangal Pandey Marg, Gokalpuri, New Delhi, Delhi 110094

• Harsh Vihar Police Station
Address:Harsh Vihar Extension, Block D, Harsh Vihar, Mandoli, Delhi, 110093

• Jafrabad Police Station
Address: Main Road Jaffrabad, Block C1, Jafrabad, Shahdara, Delhi, 110031

• Jyoti Nagar Police Station
Address: C-324, Loni Rd, Kardam Puri Extension, Kardam Puri, Shahdara, Delhi, 110093

• Karawal Nagar Police Station
Address: Kamal Vihar Extn, Shiv Vihar, Karawal Nagar, Delhi, 110094

• Khajuri Khas Police Station
Address: opposite Govt. School Khajuri, Sonia Vihar, New Delhi, Delhi 110094

• Nand Nagri Police Station
Address: Depot, Near, A Block, Nand Nagri, Mandoli, New Delhi, Delhi 110093

• New Usman Pur Police Station
Address: GT Road, New Usmanpur, Shahdara, New Delhi, Delhi 110053

• Seelampur Police Station
Address: New Seelampur Phase II, New Seelampur, Shahdara, Delhi, 110031

• Shastri Park Police Station
Address: Shastri Park, Delhi

• Sonia Vihar Police Station
Address: Sabhapur Extension, Sabhapur, Sonia Vihar, Delhi, 110094

• Welcome Police Station
Address: Subhash Park, Shahdara, Delhi, 110032

For more info visit

Delhi metro has connected various parts of Delhi and has certainly been a boon for all the commuters. The north east district of Delhi is served by the Red Line of the Delhi metro. 

The following stations fall in the area of north east district –

  • Dilshad Garden
  • Jhilmil
  • Mansarovar Park,
  • Shahdara
  • Welcome
  • Seelampur
  • Shastri Park,
  • Kashmere Gate
  • Tis Hazari
  • Pul Bangash 
  • Pratap Nagar
  • Shastri Nagar 
  • Inder Lok
  • Kanhiya Nagar 
  • Keshav Puram
  • Netaji Subhash Place
  • Kohat Enclave
  • Pitam Pura
  • Rohini East
  • Rohini West 
  • Rithala


Deputy Commissioner (North East)

District Magistrate (NORTH EAST) D.C. Office Complex, Nand Nagri, Opposite Gagan Cinema, Delhi-93 


Contact No.: 22122732

Additional Divisional Magistrate (North East)

D.C. Office Complex, Nand Nagri, Opposite Gagan Cinema, Delhi-93


Contact No.: 22122732

Additional District Magistrate (NORTH EAST)

D.C. Office Complex, Nand Nagri, Opposite Gagan Cinema, Delhi-93


Contact No.: 22115490

Sub Divisional Magistrate (Karawal Nagar)

Disidc Weaver Complex,Near Gagan Cinema,Nand Nagri,

Contact No. 22574469

Sub Divisional Magistrate (Seelampur)

Selampur Court , G.T. Road ,Seelampur


Contact No.: 22824272

Sub Divisional Magistrate (Yamuna Vihar)

Disidc Weaver Complex,Near Gagan Cinema,Nand Nagri,


Contact No.: 22574468

Read More National Zoological Park in DelhiYoga Centers in Delhi, Yashwant Place, Yamuna River in Delhi, NGOs for Women in DelhiWine Shops in Delhi, Wildlife Sanctuaries Near DelhiWholesale Markets in Delhi, Map of West Delhi District,Volvo Bus Service from Delhi, Delhi OnlineVintage Camera Museum DelhiFoundation of Shanti Stupa DelhiHistory of Digambar Jain Mandir DelhiList of Bank Branches in Delhi, Economic System of DelhiBanquet Halls in Delhi, Big Bazaar Delhi, Catering Services in Delhi, Apollo Hospital Delhi, National Childrens Museum New Delhi

Explore more about Delhi Government

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries