Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide east delhi

East Delhi District

The East Delhi administrative district of National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT Delhi) is a revenue district located in the Trans-Yamuna area. The district is bounded by the Noida (Gautam Buddha Nagar) district and Ghaziabad districts of Uttar Pradesh.

Functions of East Delhi District

There are a number of functions assigned to the District Administration of East Delhi district which includes magisterial functions, registration duties, election duties, land acquisition functions and a lot of other functions. It is also entitled to issue statutory documents and also associated to revenue courts. The Delhi District Administration is the de-facto monitoring agent of Delhi Court in regard to government policies. Some of the specified functions include:
  • Issues of various certificates including SC/ST & OBC
  • Registration of marriages
  • Registration of property documents
  • Ex-gratia relief of the victims of fire and natural calamities.
  • Relief and Rehabilitation (Monthly relief payment to J&K migrants).
  • Disaster Management.
  • Compensation under solatium Fund Scheme (Hit & Run case) in the event of     motor vehicle accident.
  • Loan/Financial Assistance for self-employment.
  • Recovery of Government dues.
  • Prevention of Food Adulteration.
  • Election Matters.
  • Information under Right to Information Act, 2005.

East Delhi District Organizational Setup

A Deputy Commissioner and an Additional District Magistrate (ADM) coordinates and heads the East Delhi district. The East Delhi district is divided into three sub divisions which are Preet Vihar, Mayur Vihar and Gandhinagar. East sub division is headed by a sub Magistrate and has different revenue and clerical staff for respective functions.

Tourist Places in East Delhi District

Tourist place of East Delhi DistrictThe East Delhi district has a number of significant tourist places frequented by tourists from across the country and the world. The tourist places include temples, lakes and malls. Some of these include:
  • Swaminarayan Akshardham Temple
  • Gandhi Nagar market
  • Laxmi Nagar market
  • Sanjay Lake
  • Cross River Mall
  • V3S Mall
  • Shiv Mandir (Preet Vihar)
  • Yamuna Sports Complex

Facts and Figures

Population: 1,707,346 (2011 census)
Male Population: 907, 500
Female Population: 801, 846
Area: 63 km²
Population density: 27, 132 persons per km²
Sex ratio – 884 females per 1000 males
Literacy rate – 89.31%
Parliamentary Constituency – East Delhi
Nearest cities – Noida, Ghaziabad

Police Stations in East Delhi District

The East Delhi district sub divisions have a number of police stations maintaining law and order in their assigned locations. These police stations are divided according to the three sub divisions of the district. They are:

Police Stations under Preet Vihar sub division are:
  • Jagar Puri
  • Shakar Pur
  • Preet Vihar
  • Mandawali
  • Madhu Vihar

Police Stations under Gandhi Nagar sub division are:
  • Geeta Colony
  • Krishana Nagar
  • Gandhi Nagar

Police Stations under Mayur Vihar sub division:
  • Pandav Nagar
  • Mayur Vihar Phase-1
  • Kalyan Puri
  • Gazipur
  • Ashok Nagar


  • Deputy Commissioner (East)
    Room No.-06, Office of the Deputy Commissioner(East),
    L.M. Bundh, Shastri Nagar, Delhi – 110031
    Phone: 011-22421656/  Email:
  • ADM (East)
    Phone: 011- 22047073/ Email:
  • SDM (Gandhi Nagar)
    Phone: 011- 2205834/ Email:
  • SDM (Preet Vihar)
    Phone: 011- 2530370/ Email:
  • (Sub Registrar  Division VIII)
    Phone: 011- 22025615, 22247709

Also Read: Localities in Delhi

Explore more about Localities of Delhi