Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide delhi high court

Delhi High Court

The High Court of Delhi came into existence on 31st October, 1966. It is the second highest judicial appeal body after the Supreme Court of India. It was established in 1966 by welcoming four judges - Chief Justice K.S.Hegde, Justice I.D.Dua, Justice S.K.Kapur and Justice H.R.Khanna.  The number of judges sanctioned keeps on increasing from time to time. The present strength of judges in the High Court is 29 permanent judges and 19 additional judges.

The ascending order of hierarchy of the officers of High Court of Delhi, is
  • Administrative Officer (Judl.) /Court Master
  • Assistant Registrar
  • Deputy Registrar
  • Joint Registrar
  • Registrar, Registrar-General. 
Delhi high court

Qualification of Judges of High Court

 The judges of the high court should have following qualification:
  •  worked in the office of Justice for not less than ten years.
  •  Served for ten years continuously as lawyer in any High Court or High Courts.
  •  Citizen of India.
The Judges of High Court can continue in office till the completion of 62 years of age. He can be relieved from the office on following grounds:
  • Promotion and transfer to Supreme Court.
  • Misconduct or ineligibility
  • On resignation

High court of Delhi includes Chief justice and other judges. There is no fixed number concerning the judges of the High Courts. The President may also employ a qualified person as an additional judge in a High Court for two years. Justice G. Rohini is the current Chief Justice of Delhi High Court.

Appointment of High Court Judges

High court judge is appointed by the President of India. After discussion with the Chief Justice of India and governor of state the President appoints the Chief Justice of a High Court.

Power and Functions of High Court

The High Courts have been given power of  original, appellate and administrative jurisdiction, which have been discussed as below.

Original Jurisdiction:
  • High Court has the authority to issue direction or orders including writs to any person, authority and any government within its authority against the violation of the Fundamental Rights of the citizens.
  • It has partial original jurisdiction in cases relating to marriage case, company laws, divorce, admiralty, will, and contempt of Court.

Appellate Jurisdiction: 
  • High Court has the control to hear appeals about civil and criminal cases against the decisions of the lower Courts.
  • The High Court also hears the cases  related to sales tax, house tax, income tax,etc

 Administrative Jurisdiction:
  •  High Court has the power to manage the workings of all subordinate Courts.
  •  It can issue common rules to regulate their proceedings.
  • The judges of the subordinate Courts are selected, promoted and transferred in discussion with the High Court of the state. .
Power of Judicial Review:

A High Court has the supremacy to strike down any law of the State or any order of the administrative if it violates any provision of the constitution or takes any of the Fundamental Rights of the people.

It also provides Daily orders and these orders are available as soon as the orders are signed by the court.
Cases can be retrieved through:

  •  Case No.
  •  Title (Petitioner/respondent Name)
  •  Advocate name
  •  Lower court details

Address of High Court

Sher Shah Road,
New Delhi, DL 110003

Explore more about Delhi Government