Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide delhi cantonment board

Delhi Cantonment Board and NDMC

The Delhi Cantonment Board is one of the local bodies of Delhi which was established in the year 1914. The Delhi Cantonment Board, earlier known as Cantt Authority was created under the Ministry of Defense and is controlled by Cantonments Act of 1960. The head office of the board is located in the Sadar Bazaar area within the geographical area of around 10, 500 acres.
Delhi Cantonment Board
The elected members term is for five years and the vice president of the board is selected from among the elected members. The Delhi Cantonment Board is supervised by the President Cantonment Board.

The main function of the Delhi Cantonment Board is to look after proper delivery of civic services to the public. The board is divided into seven wards. The functions and rules of the Delhi Cantonment Board are laid down by the Cantonment Act. The Delhi Cantonment Board works in coordination with New Delhi Municipal Council.

For information on Delhi Cantonment Board click here

New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC)

With an objective of “A Model Well-Planned Metropolitan City", the New Delhi Municipal Council is constantly involved in providing better civic services to its citizens and also the masses from nation and abroad. 

The continuous efforts are made by NDMC with the Public Private Participation model (PPP) to ensure better quality of social and communal welfare facilities. The history of its establishment goes back to 1911, when the then Imperial Government decided to shift capital of India from the then Calcutta (now called as Kolkata) to Delhi.

Earlier it was called Raisina Municipal Committee, but later in 1932 it was changed into New Delhi Muncipal Committee (NDMC). The major initiative of this committee has been making Delhi free from Nallas by introducing underground sewer system in whole of its area

The NDMC was under the control of an administrator till an Act was passed in May 1994, after it was superseded in February 1980. On May 1994 the Punjab Municipal Act 1911 was replaced and the committee was named as New Delhi Municipal Council. The act was endorsed by the Parliament and a Special Officer was appointed by the Central government under section 418 of NDMC Act 1994.

For further information about functioning of NDMC, click here

Read More: Amusement Parks In Delhi, Aadhar Cards in DelhiAdventure Island in RohiniAgrasen Ki BaoliAmbulance Services in DelhiDelhi Ka AirportAkshardham Temple DelhiAIIMS Hospital in Delhi, Anand Vihar ISBT DelhiIndian Air Force MuseumBal Bhawan Delhi, Bal Bhawan Delhi Best Golgappa Joints in DelhiCGHS approved Hospital in Delhi, Bars in DelhiForeign Exchange Offices in DelhiCommonwealth Games in Delhi

Explore more about Delhi Government

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries