Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide cwg delhi

Commonwealth Games 2010

The Commonwealth Games is a significant international sporting event which showcases different sports and games among athletes from among the Commonwealth of Nations. The history of Common Wealth Games dates back to the year 1930 when for the first time it was held in Hamilton, Canada. It was previously known as the British Empire Games and is the revised form of Olympic Games. The Common Wealth Games are organized after a period of every four years.

Over the years, the Common Wealth Games has undergone various amendments in its current name. It was first known as British Empire Games, then changed into British Empire and then to Common Wealth Games in 1954. In the year 1970, it was renamed to British Common Wealth Games and finally in 1978 the current name Common Wealth Games came into the existence. These games are also referred as ‘Friendly Games” by the participating nations.

Common Wealth Games Federation (CWGF)

CWGF is an institution that is responsible for organizing and directing the proper organization of games. It a group of all sovereign countries all over the world in spite of any continent or region or caste, color, creed and different faiths and traditions. After the Olympic Games, the Common Wealth Games are the second largest sport events. With its principle of Humanity, Equality, and Destiny, the Commonwealth Games are played not only under full discipline but they also encourage the spread of education via sports development.

To learn more about CWGF, click here

Commonwealth Games 2010: (Role of India)

India was the proud organizer of the 19th Common Wealth Games which took place from October 3rd 2010 to October 14th 2010. The Games were commenced under the auspice of the Indian Olympic Committee. It is for the third time that India hosted such a large multi-sport extravaganza. Earlier than that, India has been the privileged organizer of the Asian Games in 1951 and 1982 respectively.

This is the second time that Common Wealth Games was held in any Asian country in 2010. Prior to this, the mega sport event has been held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1998. In 2010, the opening ceremony for Common Wealth Games took place on October 3rd 2010 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Delhi.

Explore more about Sports in Delhi