Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide central delhi

Central Delhi District

An administrative district of National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT Delhi), the Central Delhi district is located on the heart of Delhi along the edge of River Yamuna towards its east and is bounded by the North Delhi district towards the north, the West Delhi and South West Delhi districts towards its west, the New Delhi district to its south and the East Delhi towards its east.

Organizational Setup

The District Magistrate who heads the Central Delhi district reports regularly to the Divisional Commissioner of the district. The district magistrate has under him registrars and additional as well as sub divisional magistrates. The Divisional Commissioner of the district works as the revenue department head at district level and is the supervising officer. The Central Delhi district is home to some of the high profile offices and is the central business district of Delhi.

The Central Delhi District has three main sub divisions which are Kotwali, Civil Lines and Karol Bagh.

Tourist Places of Central Delhi District

The Central Delhi district located in the heart of Delhi has a number of significant tourist places frequented by tourists from across the country and the world. The district is also home to some of the historical monuments and places of Delhi like Shahjahanabad (also referred to as Old Delhi) and the principal mosquCentral Delhi District Mape Jama Masjid. Some of the other tourist places in Central Delhi district include:
  • Chandni Chowk
  • Red Fort
  • Raj Ghat
  • Connaught Place
  • Paharganj market
  • Karol Bagh market

Facts and Figures of Central Delhi District

Population: 582,320(2011 census)
Male Polulation: 307,821
Female Population: 274, 499
Area (sq kms): 21
Density (km²): 27.730
Sex Ratio: 892 females per 1000 males.
Literacy Rate: 85.14%
Parliamentary Constituency: Chandni Chowk
Civic Agency: Municipal Corporation of Delhi

Police Stations in Central Delhi District:

The Central Delhi district sub divisions have a number of police stations maintaining law and order in their assigned locations. These police stations are divided according to the three sub divisions of the district. They are:

Police Stations under Kotwali sub division are:
  • Darya Ganj
  • Jama Masjid
  • Chandni Mahal
  • I P Estate
  • Sarai Rohilla
  • Gulabi Bagh
  • Sadar Bazar
  • Bada Hindu Rao
  • Sabzi Mandi
  • Kotwali
  • Lahori Gate
  • Kashmiri Gate
  • Old Delhi Railway Station
  • Kashmiri Gate Metro Station
  • Sarai Rohilla Railway Station

Police Stations under Karol Bagh sub division are:
  • Karol Bagh
  • Rajinder Nagar 
  • Prasad Nagar
  • Deshbandhu Gupta Road
  • Pahar Ganj
  • Nabi Karim
  • Kamla Market
  • Hauz Qazi

Police Stations under Civil Lines sub division are:
  • Civil Lines
  • Roop Nagar
  • Burari
  • Timar Pur
  • Maurice Nagar

Contact Information of Central Delhi District:

  • Deputy Magistrate (Central)
    14, Darya Ganj , New Delhi- 110002
    Tel No. : 011- 23282903/ Email -
  • Additional District Magistrate (Central)
    14, Darya Ganj ,  New Delhi- 110002
    Phone: 011- 23284932/ Email:
  • SDM (Election) Central District
    14, Darya Ganj ,  New Delhi- 110002
    Phone: 011- 23284933/
  • SDM (Kotwali)
    14 , Darya Ganj, New Delhi- 110002
    Phone: 011- 23284931/ Email:
  • SDM (Karol Bagh)
    14, Darya Ganj, New Delhi-110002
    Tel No. : 011- 23559400 / Email:
  • SDM (Civil Lines)
    14, Darya Ganj, New Delhi-110002
    Phone: 011- 23954835/ Email:

For more information click here

Explore more about Localities of Delhi